Money Clarity

    RBI prepayment charges rule 2026: who it frees, who still pays

    The RBI prepayment charges rule 2026 took the foreclosure charge off the loans that were least likely to carry one. It bars the charge on floating-rate loans taken by individuals for purposes other than business, sanctioned or renewed from 1 January 2026. Most personal loans are fixed-rate. So the borrower most likely to search for the rule, someone with a personal loan and a bonus sitting in the bank, is usually the one it does not reach.

    That is not a reason to keep paying interest. On an illustrative ₹5 lakh fixed-rate loan at 13 percent over 60 months, closing after 18 EMIs with a 4 percent charge plus 18 percent GST costs ₹18,042 and avoids ₹95,565 of interest, a net ₹77,523. The charge takes 18.9 percent of the saving, not the saving. What it really changes is timing, the choice between part-payment and full closure, and which offer is worth signing in the first place.

    Below: who the rule covers, what a lender may still charge, what the KFS must say, the ₹5 lakh closure worked in full, when closing stops paying, when part-payment wins, and what to ask before you sign.

    Last reviewed 2026-09-28

    RBI prepayment charges rule 2026: who it covers

    The technique

    Four tests, judged on the day you prepay

    The rule gets repeated as 'RBI banned foreclosure charges'. It did so for a loan that passes four tests together: a floating rate, an individual borrower, a purpose other than business, and a sanction or renewal on or after 1 January 2026. Fail any one and the charge goes back to the lender's own policy, which is where most personal loans sit.

    The source is RBI's Pre-payment Charges on Loans Directions, 2025, dated 2 July 2025, published at https://www.rbi.org.in/Scripts/NotificationUser.aspx?Id=12878. They apply to commercial banks other than payments banks, to co-operative banks, NBFCs and All India Financial Institutions, and to loans sanctioned or renewed on or after 1 January 2026.

    For a floating-rate loan to an individual for a non-business purpose, with or without a co-borrower, the lender cannot charge for prepayment. That holds for a part-payment as much as a full closure, whatever the source of the money, and with no minimum lock-in. Floating-rate business loans to individuals and micro and small enterprises get the same treatment from commercial banks, Tier 4 urban co-operative banks, upper-layer NBFCs and All India Financial Institutions. Small finance banks, regional rural banks, Tier 3 urban co-operative banks, state and central co-operative banks and middle-layer NBFCs cannot charge on such loans up to a ₹50 lakh sanction.

    A dual-rate loan, fixed for a while and floating after, is judged by the rate it carries on the day you prepay. That makes waiting look clever, so price it. Take the ₹5 lakh loan used on this page as if it were fixed for its first 24 months and floating after, sanctioned in 2026. After 18 EMIs you have the money. Closing now costs ₹18,042. Waiting six EMIs for it to float avoids the charge but costs ₹23,653 in interest, so waiting loses ₹5,611. It pays only when the switch is close: four more EMIs carry ₹16,090 of interest against the ₹18,042 charge, five carry ₹19,913.

    LoanPrepayment charge allowed?
    Floating, individual, non-business, sanctioned or renewed from 1 January 2026No, for part or full prepayment, from the first EMI
    Floating, business, individual or MSE: commercial bank, Tier 4 UCB, NBFC-UL, AIFINo
    Floating, business: SFB, RRB, Tier 3 UCB, state or central co-op bank, NBFC-MLNo up to ₹50 lakh sanctioned; lender policy above
    Dual-rate, fixed period then floatingDepends on the rate on the day you prepay
    Fixed rate, any purposeYes, if disclosed, and charged on the amount prepaid
    Sanctioned before 1 January 2026, not renewedOutside these directions; earlier rules and your agreement
    Local area banks sit outside the first business-loan group and are not named in the second. Payments banks are outside the directions altogether.

    Can a bank charge foreclosure charges?

    Yes, on any loan that fails one of the four tests, and a fixed-rate personal loan fails the first. For those loans the charge, if any, is set by the lender's approved policy. The same goes for a loan sanctioned before 1 January 2026 that has not been renewed since: the directions replace older RBI circulars on foreclosure charges from their effective date, and a loan sanctioned earlier stays under the rules of its period and its own agreement. A floating-rate business loan above ₹50 lakh from the second group of lenders is also back to policy.

    The rule still does four things for a loan under the directions that can carry a charge. None of them caps the rate of the charge. Four percent, two percent or nil on a fixed-rate loan remains the lender's call; the directions make it visible and fix what it is charged on.

    • It must be disclosed. Whether a prepayment charge applies has to be stated in the sanction letter and the loan agreement, and in the KFS where one is required. A charge not disclosed that way cannot be levied
    • On a term loan it is based on the amount being prepaid. A 4 percent charge plus GST on the ₹3,82,249 still owed after 18 EMIs is ₹18,042. The same rate on the original ₹5 lakh would be ₹23,600, ₹5,558 more, and that base is not the one the directions allow
    • Nothing can be charged when the prepayment is made at the lender's instance, for example when the lender itself asks for the loan to be closed
    • A fee or charge the lender waived earlier cannot be revived and charged retrospectively at the time you prepay

    Personal loan preclosure charges: the KFS line

    The technique

    Read the prepayment row, not the APR

    The APR on a KFS prices the loan as scheduled, with every charge the lender levies folded in. It is the right number for comparing two offers you will run to the end and the wrong one for judging an exit, because the saving from closing early turns on one row most borrowers skip: whether a prepayment charge applies, how much it is, and what it is charged on.

    The KFS, or Key Facts Statement, is RBI's standard summary of a loan, set out in the circular of 15 April 2024 at https://www.rbi.org.in/Scripts/NotificationUser.aspx?Id=12663. Every new retail and MSME term loan sanctioned on or after 1 October 2024, including a fresh loan to an existing customer, must come with one, in a language the borrower understands, with an APR computation sheet and a repayment schedule. The same summary appears as a box inside the loan agreement. For a loan sanctioned from 1 January 2026, the prepayment directions add that the KFS must say whether prepayment charges apply.

    Three parts of the KFS circular matter when you plan to close early. A fee or charge not mentioned in the KFS cannot be charged at any stage of the loan without your explicit consent. A KFS for a loan of seven days or more stays valid for at least three working days, and the lender is bound by its terms if you accept within that time, so there is room to read the prepayment row before committing. And a digital loan comes with a cooling-off period, set by the lender's board at no less than one day, in which you can exit by paying the principal and the proportionate APR with no penalty.

    Credit card receivables are exempt from the KFS circular, so the terms for closing a card EMI conversion early live in the card's own terms, not in a KFS.

    • A prepayment row that says 'as per policy' is not a disclosure you can price. Ask for the percentage, the base and the part-payment terms in writing before the validity period ends
    • If a charge turns up later that the KFS did not show, the circular gives you the argument: it cannot be charged without your explicit consent. Put that to the lender in writing and keep your copy of the KFS

    Personal loan foreclosure charges on ₹5 lakh

    The loan the page runs on, all illustrative: ₹5 lakh, fixed at 13 percent, 60 months, an EMI of ₹11,377 and ₹1,82,592 of interest if it runs to term. The foreclosure charge is 4 percent of the amount prepaid plus 18 percent GST on the charge, 4.72 percent all in.

    After 18 EMIs the borrower has paid ₹87,027 of interest and only ₹1,17,751 of principal. That is 47.7 percent of the loan's lifetime interest gone against 23.6 percent of the principal, which is how a reducing-balance loan front-loads interest, and why ₹3,82,249 is still owed. Closing now looks like this.

    Foreclosing after 18 of 60 EMIs
    Principal still owed
    ₹3,82,249
    Foreclosure charge, 4 percent of that
    ₹15,290
    GST on the charge, 18 percent
    ₹2,752
    Cash needed to close
    ₹4,00,291
    Interest the 42 remaining EMIs would carry
    ₹95,565
    Net saving after the charge
    ₹77,523

    Reducing-balance EMI at an illustrative 13 percent fixed rate. Charge rate and GST are illustrative; your KFS and agreement state the actual rate and base.

    • The charge feels large because it is paid on one day, while the ₹95,565 it sits against would have been paid over 42 months
    • A fairer test: the ₹4,00,291 you put in stops 42 EMIs of ₹11,377. That works out to an effective return of 10.22 percent a year after the charge, against 13 percent with no charge and 4.9 percent from an illustrative 7 percent FD taxed at 30 percent
    • Had this loan been floating-rate and sanctioned in 2026, the same closure would cost nothing and save the full ₹95,565. For this borrower the rule is worth exactly ₹18,042, and only on a loan they did not take

    When foreclosing stops paying

    The technique

    Count the charge in months of interest

    ₹18,042 is 4.4 months of interest on a ₹3,82,249 balance, where one month's interest is ₹4,141. Because the balance falls with every EMI, so does the interest each later EMI carries, and the point where the charge outweighs the saving arrives later than four EMIs from the end: on this loan, with seven left.

    The same 4.72 percent charge, closing at different points in the 60 months. Whether your rate is worth escaping by switching rather than closing is a separate sum, worked on the page on overpaying on your loan.

    After EMIOwedInterest avoidedChargeNet savingReturn
    6₹4,63,258₹1,51,075₹21,866₹1,29,20910.8%
    12₹4,24,063₹1,22,011₹20,016₹1,01,99510.5%
    18₹3,82,249₹95,565₹18,042₹77,52310.2%
    24₹3,37,643₹71,912₹15,937₹55,9759.8%
    36₹2,39,295₹33,742₹11,295₹22,4478.4%
    48₹1,27,372₹9,146₹6,012₹3,1344.3%
    54₹65,744₹2,515₹3,103−₹588Below zero
    Charge is 4 percent plus 18 percent GST on the amount owed. Return is the annual rate at which the cash used to close, charge included, comes back as EMIs you no longer pay. Illustrative 13 percent fixed rate over 60 months.
    • In rupees alone, closing pays until 8 EMIs remain: ₹4,281 of interest avoided against a ₹4,094 charge. With 7 left, the ₹3,601 charge is more than the ₹3,342 it saves
    • Against the other place the cash could sit, the line comes earlier. After 48 EMIs the return is 4.3 percent, below the 4.9 percent an illustrative FD pays after tax; after 36 it is 8.4 percent, still well ahead. On this loan, the final year is where keeping the cash and paying the EMIs wins
    • Earlier beats later every time. The charge shrinks with the balance, but the interest you avoid shrinks faster: the net saving falls from ₹1,29,209 at EMI 6 to ₹22,447 at EMI 36

    Part-payment or foreclosure: which saves more

    The technique

    The charge is per rupee; the risk is not

    When the charge is a percentage of the amount prepaid, a rupee of part-payment and a rupee of full closure pay the same toll. So the choice between them is not really about the charge. It is about how the saving is taken, and what is left in the bank if something goes wrong the month after.

    Same loan, 18 EMIs paid, ₹4.1 lakh in savings. Closing takes ₹4,00,291 and leaves ₹9,709. A ₹2 lakh part-payment carries a ₹9,440 charge and leaves ₹2,00,560, and where the lender offers the choice it can be taken two ways: keep the EMI and finish sooner, or keep the end date and pay a smaller EMI. On a loan the rule covers, part-payment is charge-free as well, from the first EMI.

    RouteCash inInterest savedNet of chargeReturn
    Foreclose₹4,00,291₹95,565₹77,52310.22%
    Part-pay ₹2 lakh, keep EMI₹2,09,440₹76,549₹67,10911.13%
    Part-pay ₹2 lakh, keep end date₹2,09,440₹50,002₹40,56210.22%
    Keep EMI: the ₹11,377 EMI continues and the loan ends 24 EMIs early, the last one ₹7,864. Keep end date: 42 EMIs of ₹5,424, ₹5,953 less than before. Illustrative 13 percent fixed; charge 4 percent plus 18 percent GST on the amount prepaid.
    • Keep the EMI and shorten the loan whenever the lender offers the choice. It saves ₹26,547 more interest than lowering the EMI and returns 11.13 percent after the charge against 10.22 percent, because the one-time charge is spread over money that stays working in the loan for longer
    • Part-payment wins outright when it keeps the emergency fund intact. If the borrower who closed later needs ₹1.5 lakh and borrows it over 24 months at an illustrative 14 percent with a 2 percent fee plus GST, that loan costs ₹26,386 and cuts the closure's net to ₹51,137. The part-payer, with ₹2,00,560 still in the bank, keeps ₹67,109
    • If your agreement allows some part-payment free of charge each year, use that allowance before any full closure: on ₹2 lakh it is worth ₹9,440
    • Foreclosure wins when the cash is genuinely spare, the emergency fund sits elsewhere and many EMIs remain, because it clears the whole balance, including the ₹1,82,249 a part-payment would leave running at 13 percent

    Zero foreclosure charges: when the offer pays

    The technique

    Price the exit before the entry

    A fixed-rate loan with no foreclosure charge is sometimes priced a little higher than one with a charge. Whether that trade is worth it depends on something you can estimate at signing and cannot change afterwards: how likely you are to close the loan early, and when.

    Two illustrative offers on ₹5 lakh over 60 months: 13 percent with a 4 percent charge, and 13.5 percent with none. The EMI gap is ₹128. Run both to the end and the nil-charge loan costs ₹7,703 more in interest. Close at EMI 18 and it comes out ₹14,573 ahead: the ₹18,042 charge avoided, less ₹3,469 of extra interest paid on the way.

    Close after EMICharge avoidedExtra interest paidNil-charge offer
    12₹20,016₹2,385₹17,631 ahead
    24₹15,937₹4,463₹11,474 ahead
    36₹11,295₹6,131₹5,164 ahead
    48₹6,012₹7,262₹1,250 behind
    NeverNone₹7,703₹7,703 behind
    Illustrative 13 percent with a 4 percent plus GST charge on the amount owed, against 13.5 percent with no charge; both ₹5 lakh over 60 months, reducing balance.
    • Ask whether the rate is fixed, floating or dual-rate, and for dual-rate, the month it switches. That answer decides whether the RBI rule can apply at all
    • Ask for the prepayment charge on full closure and on part-payment as a percentage, and confirm it is charged on the amount prepaid
    • Ask whether there is a lock-in before prepayment, or a limit on part-payments in a year. A covered floating-rate loan can have neither; a fixed-rate loan can have both
    • Ask whether a part-payment cuts the tenure or the EMI by default, and whether you can choose
    • If you may move the loan later, the charge becomes a cost of switching; the page on when a loan transfer is worth it sets that sum out. And when a lender offers to add fresh money by rebooking your whole balance as one new loan, ask whether it charges you for closing the old one

    How Unyfy helps with foreclosure decisions

    Every sum on this page starts from three numbers: the amount still owed, the rate, and the EMIs left. Most borrowers know the EMI and guess the rest. Unyfy reads your bank and card transaction emails and, on Android, transactional SMS, with no manual entry, so each loan shows up from its own debits: the name on the EMI, the amount, the date it leaves your account, and what the coming month is already committed to. It computes a blended rate across all your loans and cards and a live FOIR from the accounts it can see. Where a loan is priced above what the same borrower would be offered today, it flags it and says whether switching is worth it after the fee.

    Bring your foreclosure or part-payment charge from your sanction letter or KFS: that is the row the sum needs from your own documents, and when the charge makes a switch pointless, leaving the loan alone is the right answer. Unyfy is not a lender. It never asks for your bank password or UPI PIN, and every payment is one you authorise. Install Unyfy on Android, or use the web app at app.unyfy.co.in on an iPhone.

    Common questions

    What is the RBI prepayment charges rule 2026?

    RBI's Pre-payment Charges on Loans Directions, 2025. For loans sanctioned or renewed on or after 1 January 2026, banks (other than payments banks), co-operative banks, NBFCs and All India Financial Institutions cannot charge for prepaying a floating-rate loan taken by an individual for a non-business purpose, whether you pay part or all of it, from any source, with no lock-in. Floating-rate business loans to individuals and small businesses are also covered, fully for some lenders and up to ₹50 lakh for others. Fixed-rate loans are not covered.

    Can a bank charge foreclosure charges on a personal loan?

    On a fixed-rate personal loan, yes, and most personal loans are fixed-rate. The charge follows the lender's policy, but for a loan sanctioned from 1 January 2026 it must be disclosed in the sanction letter, the loan agreement and the KFS, and on a term loan it is charged on the amount being prepaid. It cannot be charged if it was not disclosed, if the prepayment was at the lender's instance, or if it was waived earlier. On a floating-rate personal loan sanctioned from that date, no charge is allowed.

    How much are personal loan foreclosure charges on ₹5 lakh?

    It depends on the rate in your KFS and on what is still owed, not on the original amount. With an illustrative 4 percent plus 18 percent GST, a ₹5 lakh loan at 13 percent over 60 months closed after 18 EMIs owes ₹3,82,249, so the charge is ₹18,042. The interest the remaining 42 EMIs would have carried is ₹95,565, leaving a net saving of ₹77,523. On this loan closing keeps paying in rupees until 8 EMIs remain.

    Do the RBI personal loan preclosure charges rules cover old loans?

    The 2025 directions apply to loans sanctioned or renewed on or after 1 January 2026. A loan sanctioned before that and not renewed stays under the rules of its period and its own agreement; the directions replace older RBI circulars on foreclosure charges from their effective date, and those continue to govern the periods they covered. Check your sanction letter for the prepayment clause, and whether the loan is fixed or floating.

    Is a zero foreclosure charges personal loan worth a higher rate?

    Only if you are likely to close early. Illustratively, 13.5 percent with no charge against 13 percent with a 4 percent plus GST charge, both ₹5 lakh over 60 months: closing at EMI 18, the nil-charge loan is ₹14,573 ahead; at EMI 36, ₹5,164 ahead; at EMI 48 it is ₹1,250 behind; run to the end it costs ₹7,703 more. The EMI gap is only ₹128, which is why the choice is easy to get wrong in either direction.

    Should I part-pay or foreclose my personal loan?

    If the charge is a percentage of the amount prepaid, each rupee costs the same either way, so decide on liquidity. On the example loan after 18 EMIs with ₹4.1 lakh saved, closing leaves ₹9,709 in the bank and nets ₹77,523. Part-paying ₹2 lakh and keeping the EMI nets ₹67,109 and leaves ₹2,00,560. If an emergency then forces a ₹1.5 lakh loan costing ₹26,386, the closure nets only ₹51,137. Keep the EMI rather than the end date: it saves ₹26,547 more.

    The RBI prepayment charges rule 2026 ends prepayment charges on floating-rate loans to individuals for non-business purposes sanctioned or renewed from 1 January 2026, in part or in full, with no lock-in. Most personal loans are fixed-rate and fall outside it. For those, the charge is the lender's policy, disclosed in the KFS and charged on the amount prepaid, and it rarely makes closing a bad idea: on ₹5 lakh after 18 EMIs it is ₹18,042 against ₹95,565 of interest avoided. Close early rather than late, part-pay and keep the EMI when cash is tight, and read the prepayment row before you sign. Informational page, not financial advice. The loan figures on this page are illustrative. Rates, prepayment charges, lock-ins and part-payment terms differ by lender and by loan and are set by each lender's policy within RBI's directions; your sanction letter, KFS and loan agreement govern, not this page.

    Our Partners

    Banks and NBFCs we compare

    Unyfy compares offers from these lenders and earns a commission if you take one. The comparison is shown first, and it can tell you not to switch.

    HDFC Bank logo
    ICICI Bank logo
    Axis Bank
    State Bank of India logo
    IDFC First Bank logo
    Kotak Mahindra logo
    IndusInd Bank logo
    Yes Bank logo
    Bajaj Finserv logo
    Tata Capital logo